Google loses German domain

Tuesday, 23 January 2007, 00:06

Google.de

Google appears to have lost its German domain name to a cybersquatter after forgetting to renew the registration for google.de.

The page now directs you to a holding page at Goneo, a web hosting company. The domain’s WHOIS entry now reads:

[Holder]
Type: ORG
Name: favo
[...]
Country: DE
Remarks: ID #8616
Changed: 2004-10-27T10:45:06+02:00

Favo’s website describes it as a company specialising in registering recently-expired domains. The company’s administrative contact — like Google.de’s right now — is one Mario Micklisch of Wiesbaden.

As Wortfeld reported, it’s fairly common for big online property owners to forget about their domains. Microsoft once had the same thing happen to Hotmail.co.uk, and WashingtonPost.com also got lost once.

Update: Something else is going on as well. As user Atari is pointing out in comments all over the place, German web-based WHOIS tool Serversniff.de (and other WHOIS lookups based in Germany) show some unusual results for Google.com:

Server Name: GOOGLE.COM.ZZZZZ.GET.LAID.AT.WWW.SWINGINGCOMMUNITY.COM
IP Address: 69.41.185.195
Registrar: INNERWISE, INC. D/B/A ITSYOURDOMAIN.COM
Whois Server: whois.itsyourdomain.com
Referral URL: http://www.itsyourdomain.com

Server Name: GOOGLE.COM.ZOMBIED.AND.HACKED.BY.WWW.WEB-HACK.COM
IP Address: 217.107.217.167
Registrar: ONLINENIC, INC.
Whois Server: whois.OnlineNIC.com
Referral URL: http://www.OnlineNIC.com

etc…

English-language WHOIS tools, however, show Google owned by a Mountain View, California, corporation of the same name. Whatever is going on seems to be localised to Germany for the moment.

Update: Google.de seems to be pointing at Google again.

Update: See also SearchEngineLand, Google Blogscoped.

Entry Filed under: Germany, Google

  • just a friend
    You should take care to remove the address information to not get into trouble for unauthorized publication of private data... with denic.de, it's "secured" by at least a disclaimer page, here it's open to everybody and his bot!
    cheers
  • Although I'm not familiar with the notion of "unauthorized publication of private data", it's the middle of the night and I can't think of a public interest reason why I should be republishing someone's personal address (if that's what it is). I'm taking it down (for now).
  • it looks crazy... i checked the whois of google.com and find new data like:
    Server Name: GOOGLE.COM.PLZ.GIVE.A.PR8.TO.AUDIOTRACKER.NET
    IP Address: 213.251.184.30
    Registrar: OVH
    Whois Server: whois.ovh.xxx

    Server Name: GOOGLE.COM.HAS.LESS.FREE.PORN.IN.ITS.SEARCH.ENGINE .THAN.SECZY
    IP Address: 209.187.114.130
    Registrar: INNERWISE, INC. D/B/A ITSYOURDOMAIN

    there is a guy that play with google!!!
  • everybody can check it for themselfes. as of now denic shows wrong data for google.de
    but i didn´t find any official statement so far:
    http://titusz.org/miscellaneous/google-germany-...
  • The google.com whois details are no need for concern; these whois tools apparently display all domains and subdomains that contain "google.com" and many of them have nothing to do with the real Google. The results for <a href="http://searchy.protecus.de/whois/?domain=microsoft.com" rel="nofollow">microsoft.com are even more interesting.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Martin StabeA UK-centric look at new media and online journalism.
 
 

Subscribe to this site (RSS)


Subscribe with Bloglines
Add to Google
Subscribe in NewsGator Online

Contact Information

As seen on...

Tags

Latest Photographs

IMG_3898IMG_3870IMG_3869IMG_3866IMG_3861IMG_3860IMG_3859IMG_3857